The Public Hospital of Colonial Williamsburg was built in 1773 and burned down in 1885. The hospital was rebuilt in 1985. The purpose of this project was to show the architecture and interior of the first insane asylum built. Upon approach many visitors cannot tell that the building is meant for the mentally unstable. Why did the architects not make the hospital look like an asylum? This video tour will explore the grounds and the interior and give an overview of the way the asylum looks inside and out. The video will also explore the living quarters of the patients.
Michael Archer is a senior at Kent State Stark. He is completing his major in history and intends to graduate this spring. When he graduates he intends to go to graduate school where he will begin work on his master’s degree in public history. He hopes to eventually teach history and/or work in a living museum
Archer, M. (2016). Asylum of Williamsburg. https://oaks.kent.edu/node/4867
Archer, Michael. 2016. “Asylum of Williamsburg”. https://oaks.kent.edu/node/4867.
Archer, M. Asylum of Williamsburg. 29 Apr. 2016, https://oaks.kent.edu/node/4867.